BOCA Code

Users who are viewing this thread

Watertec

Reaction score
I have a small project in Manheim Township, just outside of Hanover, Pa. Single story home w/ 2 baths.

The builder called for an under slab plumbing inspection and was told by the inspector that the drainage needs to be tested with 5 PSI of air.

In this particular municipality, the inspections are done by independent, private, inspection company hired by the municipality to enforce their adopted code.

The inspector cited the BOCA code as his source for this testing requirement.

I have been a professional plumber for 25 years, working in about a dozen counties surrounding this area, ALL of which use BOCA as a basis for their own individual codes and have NEVER been asked to air test drain pipe.

????????

Is this a BOCA requirement for the residential plumbing industry?

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
boca

I have only a limited knowledge of the BOCA code, but typically the air test was a secondary way of testing, for cases where no water was available or freezing weather would preclude leaving water in the system for any length of time.

Watertec

Reaction score
Even so, in the Baltimore metro area, to my knowledge there is only one municipality (WSSC) that requires ANY formal testing of the sanitary lines in residential plumbing. They require a hydronic head test.

As a thought, the piping I have used is PVC foam core ("not for pressure").....I wonder if this independent inspector guy is willing to shoulder the liability of me pressurizing pipe not meant to be pressurized.

Any thoughts??????

Watertec

Reaction score
The other discussion the builder and I had was the oxymoronic principle of testing sewer pipe under ground 20' from a septic tank. I challenge anyone here to make that tank hold 5#'s of air under ANY conditions.

On top of THAT.....the whole principle behind a septic system is for it to "leak".