Best Electric Heater?

Users who are viewing this thread

Cliffy

Reaction score
What is the best standard electric heater? Smith, Rheem? Bradford White?

I'm a plumber in Florida and have been using AO Smith for about the last 10 years. For about the last two years the number that leak within the mfg warranty has been ridiculous. This month alone I've had 3 that were less than 2 years old start to leak. I get a new heater but it leaves a real bad taste in the customer mouth. I'd like to try another brand but would like to hear if anyone has had better experience with someone else. Switching would be a huge inconvenience because we would still have to have some Smith's around to replace leakers for the next 6 years but if there is a better product that's what I want to be installing.

Any pro's with a strong opinion on this?

Thanks for taking the time

Cliffy

Reaction score
May I ask, have you been happy with them? What made you choose them over the other brands?

I used to stock Rheem years ago but switched when I switched my main supply house. Was really glad I did when they started showing up in HD, seems like a slap in the face to plumbers. I understand it but wish they would just use a different brand name for the retail line.
I am a big fan of their Marathon series but most customers aren't eager to spend the extra money for the premium product.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
They DID use a different brand name, until recently. It was GE. EVERY wholesaler has dozens of "warranty" heaters at any given time. There is no agreement on which is better.

Dj2

In the Trades
Reaction score
Questions:

1. What's up with the water in your town?

2. Do other Ft Myers plumbers report a high number of leaks with other brands?

3. Are the water heaters leaking from the tanks?

Cliffy

Reaction score