Bathroom smells after showering

Users who are viewing this thread

Shababa98

Reaction score
Hello, I'm not very knowledgeable about plumbing, plus I'm a student, so I don't have the funds to have my pipes checked out. I was hoping to obtain some help and thoughts on what is wrong with my bathtub. I moved into my apartment about two weeks ago, and after taking a shower, I notice a terrible odor that smells like rotten cheese but I’m unable to find the source. And the stench comes out after about 10-20 minutes of running the shower. I also get a headache after showering due to the smell and the smell takes some time to dissipate. The apartment was unoccupied for a month prior to my move in. I asked maintenance to come take a look for any leaky sewage pipes and they said the pipes weren’t connected to the sewer, therefore they wouldn't come. Not sure how true that is because again I’m not familiar with plumbing. But I did some research and I think my ptrap is dried out; I’ll attach a picture. I do believe it’s within my states pluming code to have a ptrap to prevent the sewage smell from emitting as well as a vent of some sort typically found on the roof. I’m not sure how to go about having my maintenance come check out the issue and if I’m even correct about my assumption.

Attachments

• BC5A2536-3625-4AFC-B497-A98AA3C7E0F1.jpeg
    BC5A2536-3625-4AFC-B497-A98AA3C7E0F1.jpeg
    52.3 KB · Views: 73
Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score
Try running some water down the lavatory drain before showering. Close the stopper.

You can get some cheap plastic dropcloths. Put one over the lavatory, and one over the toilet. Maybe hang one as a curtain to divide the room. See if that helps isolate the source of the smell. https://www.walmart.com/ip/Husky-Pl...Mil-3-Pack/17217856?athbdg=L1200&from=/search

Most things that I could imagine would be something within the walls or floors, but you can perhaps isolate where the smell comes out of.

Jeff H Young

In the Trades