Bathroom pop-up drain assembly (warning! newbie!)

Users who are viewing this thread

jdeare

Reaction score
First off, I am a complete newbie to any kind of plumbing. I like to do stuff myself when I can though...

I recently installed a new sink (Glacier Bay from HD) and faucet (Moen Adler) in my bathroom. The sink was a surprise, but the old one was in way worse condition than I thought when I set out to replace the faucet.

Anyway, the faucet came with a drain assembly that is giving me fits. I keep getting drips from where the coned washer interfaces with the bottom of the sink. The drain assembly has the flange (the visible piece in the sink--I think that's the right term) as one piece (instead of screw on), which is different than all the install tip sites I looked at. And it also makes it very hard to line up the tailpiece so the rod can go in the hole correctly. And on top of that the tailpiece is frustratingly short which means I had to use a slip joint extension to get the extra inch to mate with the trap correctly.

Anyway, I'm not positive on the drain assembly. I think it's going to leak again, even if it's not leaking now.

So I'm thinking that I should buy a replacement, but I'm unsure what to look for in one that will be better than what I have now. Is there a brand I should look for, or anything like that?

Thanks in advance!

https://www.moen.com/shared/docs/instruction-sheets/ins10059b.pdf

adler-plastic-drain-pic.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
SOmetimes, the rubber washer does not seal well next to the threads, and water can seep out between the washer along the threads. Some pipe dope or rub some plumbers putty in them before you install the nut and washer can help.

jdeare

Reaction score
Ah! Like right above the rubber washer? The water does seem to be seeping along the threads (it's a pretty small amount of water really). Thanks!

jdeare

Reaction score