Bathroom floor and shower tile material tips

Users who are viewing this thread

ron144

Reaction score
Hi! I am a newbie to this. I been doing research but wanted to ask here for best opinions.

I am planning to re-do my bathroom floors and shower walls with porcelain tile with a contractor. Would be great for tips on what material to get to plan my budget. Looking for great recommendations with low costs but qaulity as well. Here is what i have so far:

- Tile of my choosing
- ThinSet Motor - Any recommendations?
- Grout - Tiles will be spaced between 1/16", Any recommendation to prevent mold/mildew and long lasting? Would it be better to get the pre-mixed?
- HardieBacker Cement Backerboard and screws
- Spacers
- Sealer

Thanks,
Ron

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
The most important part of this project is the contractor. All the best materials or the cheapest, if not installed correctly there will be problems. Your tiler should have all these answers.

• There is no such thing as bad porcelain tile, they are all better than ceramic tile. Porcelain tiles are usually cut to size after the firing at the factory, therefore, each piece will will be nearly exact size.
  • 1/16" grout maybe too small but 1/8" is about right for larger tiles but it has a lot to do with the size of the tile. Too thin and the grout will wash out or as the wall and floor expand, the grout will more readily crack and may fall out.
  • Thin set; each tilers has there own preference but as I said, it is how it's used to put down the tile.
  • Grout: premix or not, not ,much difference. With my last bath remodel my tiler like MAPEI premix. With our master bath remodel, the contractor used grout you mix with water. Some grout you add an additive with the water for mold and mildew.prevention. https://www.homedepot.com/p/Custom-...cker-32-oz-Additive-for-Grout-SBG32/202525433
  • Any backer board is good, just do not use drywall screws.