Bathroom drain venting advice - old house

Users who are viewing this thread

TGrump

Reaction score
Hi all,
Recently bought a house and will be DIY-ing a bathroom remodel. The plumbing seems interesting and I have little experience in this area.

The sink is an s trap with no vent.

Here's what we got:

20200606_102414.jpg

What I think is the shower vent runs a little over 8 feet to tie in with an AAV at the kitchen sink.

20200606_102328.jpg

Here is a crude sketch of overhead view

20200606_110047.jpg

The vent from the toilet:

20200606_102847.jpg

I plan to move the sink to the opposite wall and upgrade it to a p trap with a dedicated vent through the walls.
Any comments, concerns, advice?
What is going on with the AAV under the kitchen sink?

Thanks for your time.

TGrump

Reaction score
Kitchen sink is fine, but it cannot supply a wet vent for the shower.

So if I'm understanding you correctly, the shower venting is inadequate?

If I were to link a shower vent to a new bathroom sink vent, would that vent properly?

Reach4

Reaction score
So if I'm understanding you correctly, the shower venting is inadequate?
It is not acceptably vented per code.

If I were to link a shower vent to a new bathroom sink vent, would that vent properly?
Probably. The shower +lavatory drainage would need to combine before joining kitchen waste.

TGrump

Reaction score
Probably. The shower +lavatory drainage would need to combine before joining kitchen waste.

This will be difficult to achieve. Can you tell me why this is the case?

Thanks for your responses

Reach4

Reaction score
This will be difficult to achieve. Can you tell me why this is the case?
You mean like "that's the UPC rule for wet venting"? Is that the answer you wanted? Or do you care to know why that's the rule in UPC code, which applies where you are? Or were you wanting to know the chapter and section of the code?

Let me give you a Google search that can turn up info for you (paste with the quotes):