Bathroom conundrum

Users who are viewing this thread

chessimprov

Reaction score
Hi, I am not a pro at working with lights or electricity.

I have a vanity mirror in the bathroom composed of 5 light bulbs. Out of the 5 light bulbs, I only had three light bulbs in because one of them was bright enough to not use all 5 of them.

Two of the bulb slots did not work and I found this out after one of my bulbs went out. While the other lights were on, I had attempted to use metal plies to straighten out a metal piece in a bulb fixture so that there would be a good chance that the bulb could be read properly because I had a similar problem where I was shown to do this so that a lamp would work again. However, when I did this with the vanity mirror, all the lights immediately went out and the bathroom stopped running. I checked the circuit breaker and I found nothing out of whack from that. The electric plugs in the bathroom still work though.

Am I going to have to get an electrician, and if so, what might be a reasonable ball park charge? Would I have to consider replacing the entire light fixture or circuitry of wires? Thank you for reading.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Did you do this while the power was off? One would hope!

Do you have a GFCI in the bathroom feeding anything? It may also be feeding the light fixture. Check that, and press the reset button. On an older home, they might have used one GFCI to protect more than one bathroom (can't do that today), so it might not be in the same room.

A tripped circuit breaker doesn't always look tripped. TO be sure, turn it fully off, then back on, and see what happens. If you bent one of the contacts too far, it may be shorted, and the breaker will trip as soon as the light is turned on.

chessimprov

Reaction score
Did you do this while the power was off? One would hope!