Barely hard water but constant spots on glass shower. Need advice

Users who are viewing this thread

Simcole

Reaction score
Hi all. I registered here because of all of the conflicting info I'm getting across the board. I have a private well at my house and it's my first well ever. I put my own 20" big blue water filter system on myself and am quite handy, so this should be right up my wheelhouse. I have a total hardness of 38mg/l or 2.2gpg water hardness. Here is a picture of my quality report.

water-quality-just-table.png

I have a family of 4 and I'd rather estimate on the high side. I figure I'd just get the 64k unit from my local hardware store and be done with it but I wanted someone else to chime in. My high estimate math is: 400gal * 2.5gpg = 900gpg per day. 7 day cycle * 900gpg = 6300gpg per week. 75% efficiency unit would mean that I need a 10,000 grain unit.

There are two conditions I'd like to solve here.

1) I have a master glass shower that has water spots on it now after living here 6 months. I didn't blade the water off and now I'm stuck trying to scrub these spots off with 000-gauge steel wool because no cleaner has removed the spots so far. I've tried CLR, rubbing compound, vinegar, magic eraser, etc. I have since bought a blade and squeegee the walls and floor after every shower now which kinda sucks but whatever.

2) I have a slight iron coloration after about 2 weeks in the toilet bowl. I have looked into this and found it's probably clear iron as opposed to normal rust colored iron.

What softener would I need to handle these two situations?

Bannerman

Reaction score
An element not specified in your report is Silica. Silica will often leave spots that are virtually impossible to remove. If the spotting was a result of hardness, then CLR should have removed them.

There is no filtration system that will remove Silica except Reverse Osmosis.