Users who are viewing this thread

Macki

Reaction score
I am going to need to bail out my well down to 485' from where the pump sits at 385' why it wasnt set at the bottom is up for debate. The 1 hp pump should be able to handle the additional depth without issue. It was likely a cheap out thing with the original installer, and it worked for 20 years.
The current pump depth is 385', the extra 100' would give me an extra 260 gallons of water to pump, which is roughly what my tank needs to fill when the float drops.
I would like to build a 4 post A frame derrick to be able to trip the pipe and do my own bailing. This is more an educational experiment, as I would like to drill my own well at my cabin (less than 100'). This would allow me to get my feet wet, so to speak. I would need to build or buy a bailer, either of which is not out of the realm of possibility. I am a fabricator and welding contractor by trade, and have the skills and tools to build what is needed, but I lack the experience in drilling a well. If the bailing experiment pans out I will need additional help moving to the drilling end of it.
So, does anyone have experience building a derrick, or bailing a well. I could use advice as to what I need to do, and what tooling I would need, as well as its use. I have read what I can find on the web, but it is a wee bit lacking. As far as the derrick, I could probably wing it and do okay, as I have built several large gantries, and small cranes. I am a little in the dark as far as the winches used though, as well as the bailer itself.

I know this is a little out of the realm of this site, but maybe not out of the people that use it. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com