Are Offset Closet Flanges Efficient Or Trouble?

Users who are viewing this thread

PGB1

Reaction score
Hello All!
At home, we are re-working a bathroom. The toilet will be moved. The move is 3" toward the stack and over 1.25". My trouble is that the length of the pipe from stack to toilet and the height to the subfloor is too small for rolling offsets to move 1.25" Unfortunately, some years ago I replaced the bell-and-spigot with schedule 40 PVC, so i can't simply rotate the waste pipe fitting into the stack.

I studied rolling 45, 22-1/2, 60 etc. No luck, so I thought about an offset closet flange. The ones I looked at all have a shelf below the inlet. It looks like the material drops from the toilet onto the shelf, then I suppose water washes the shelf.

Somehow that does not seem like it would work well with a modern toilet, especially power flush. Do you guys know if there is an offset closet flange that is not troublesome?

Thanks For Helping!
Paul

Jeff H Young

In the Trades
Reaction score
I dont like them but installed a bunch havent really had problems to blame on the offset . Ive always been told they are illegal But personaly just been beliving they are illegal and dont know whether its a fact or not

Reach4

Reaction score
Some are better than others.
How much offset are you looking for -- 1 inch, or 1.5 inch? I really did not get that from your first paragraph, unless you are looking for 1.25.

You might make a sketch, or take a photo, of what you are dealing with. Two 22.5s or two 45s or a 45 in series with a 22.5 may get you right to where you want to be.

Last edited:

John Gayewski

In the Trades
Reaction score
Can you take a picture of the piping problem? A 3"offset rolled 1.25" with a 45 fitting is 4.625" or so center to center. But I'm not sure I'm using the right numbers for that math. If we could see the problem clearly we might have better solutions.

Offset flanges work fine, but generally aren't used unless necessary.

Reach4