Apprenticeship plumber DFW Union? trying to find work?

Users who are viewing this thread

Chrismaddox3d

Reaction score
Hi i live in the North Dallas area Mckinney and Frisco area and trying to get a job as a Apprenticeship plumber or helper.
I thought i had one and did a interview last August with Union in Dallas and they put me on there list to bring me in and i am still on the list.
So far each time i call them they tell me to call back the month after.
Is the plumbing field very slow right now or what?
I even check craigslist and send my resume in to Apprenticeship plumber jobs listed.

I guess the issue is i have no experience and it is hard finding someone to take me on to train me.
What would be the best way to find someone?
Maybe call around ever plumbing place in town and ask?
Just looking for some advice for a newbie in this field.
Thanks

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
Plumbing unions, it many areas, are a sort of specialized trade and may not do a full gamut of plumbing jobs, so their membership is somewhat stable and not a lot of need for "new blood", which is why you do not advance on the list very fast, if at all. There are also a lot of experienced plumbers looking for work so there is little incentive for a company to take on a "project" and spend time and money developing him. Patience and perseverance, and possibly relocation, will be your keys to finding something.

Chrismaddox3d

Reaction score
I have been waiting since August or so and have moved up to top 20 waiting list.
Called them last month and they told me they just re hired some they just laid off a few months back.
So i will need to wait a little longer but it should come soon they hope.
I have checked around with most companies and they want someone who is a experienced plumber apprentice.
Guess i will just have to wait it out and hope for the best,Thanks

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com