Anyone familiar with Westinghouse?

Users who are viewing this thread

I know nothing

Reaction score
Hey all!

Noob here. I was thinking about getting a water softener. My co-worker bought a Westinghouse Progressive Revolution a few years back, and he's pretty happy with it. But from my limited research, they're REALLY expensive, and, well, I can't really find any info on the web about them. I mean, I know who Westinghouse WAS, and have a half-decent idea on who they are today, but there isn't a lot about their water systems. At least that I can find.

I was at a local home show a few weeks back, and Westinghouse and Kinetico were both there. Any thoughts? Looking on the boards here, it looks like the consensus on Kinetico is "works well, but pricey and you're at the mercy of the dealer for parts and service." Oh, and for reference, my water hardness is somewhere North of 10. The Westinghouse guy did a test that had it around 18, but I bought a testing kit at Home Depot to try it myself.

Thanks!

Bannerman

Reaction score
I doubt W produce any of the water treatment equipment they offer. While their controllers appear similar to Clack, they are likely a knockoff produced offshore for an inexpensive cost to W.

While some proprietary brands offer high quality equipment as you mention, those brands are usually not recommended on this forum as there will be limited availability for support, service and parts. Proprietary brands are typically only sold and serviced by that brand's dealer network. Although their most local dealer may setup a sales booth at your local home show, are they actually local to your area or will you need to pay an excessive travel amount for after warranty service?