Anyone every use Kohler Salient receptor, or Oasis?

Users who are viewing this thread

bath-fix

Reaction score
I'm new to all this.... doing a master bath remodel and have lots of questions. One big one is what to use for shower receptor. Would like a 48 or 60" base, 36" wide. Have looked at Kohler Salient cast iron and love it, but can't find ANY review of it.... specific questions would be is it hard to install, and what about installing bypass shower doors? (Our contractor has never installed one.) Walls would be tiled. Any other really good products we should consider? We'll also have a bench built at one end of the shower, but don't really care for the look of any of the acrylics with built in benches, except possibly Oasis. Anyone have any experience with Oasis brand receptors? Thanks for any help you can give!

I guess the real question should be..... what's the best (affordable) shower receptor I could use for a 48 or 60" shower? Would like a width close to 36" if possible. We want something that will last and not give us any trouble. Reason for bath remodel is existing shower (18 years old, some type of plastic/acrylic) was leaking with water coming through the ceiling below.

Any advice/direction would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
I prefer a tiled shower. For a bench if you are using a receptor that won't be tiled, to keep things from leaking, I suggest you look at Better Bench at www.innoviscorp.com. They come in various sizes and styles.

For much less money, a qualified tiler can make you a tiled shower. For some additional help and ideas, check out www.johnbridge.com.

Another suggestion is http://www.schluter.com/143.aspx. This makes a bulletproof tiled shower. You can use one of the kits, or make a custom sized shower.