Alternative plumbing under kitchen sink

Users who are viewing this thread

tonertee

Reaction score
My wife and I have been considering replacing the kitchen sink. I have about 4 years plumbing experience in repairs and new construction.

We are looking at a double sink/black 33X22X 8 or 9. Acrylic or composite granite or granite.

About 6 months ago I was surfing the internet for install instructions to refresh my memory. I came across a site that I have not been able to find lately. The site showed an unconventional way to plumb the drain. The result was maximum space under the sink. Have you got any ideas about this "other" way to plumb the drain?

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
You might want to look through this forum. You can find lots of alternative ways of installing drains. Only problem, none of them are legal. One in particular comes to mind, the guy had an IKEA sink with a fancy schmance drain he was trying to figure out how to connect. Never did get the help he wanted. Drains gotta have a P trap and gotta be vented so it's pretty hard to get cute. Neat maybe, buy cute no.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
If I recall right, that was one we were making fun off, it didn't meet any current plumbing codes. It was from a magazine article, a handyman's idea of how plumbing could be done, but not how the plumbing codes are written, and for good reason. It used an illegal S trap from the floor.

Good luck with that, don't bother trying to get that one permitted and inspected.

This one takes up more space, but it meets most codes.
sink_dw.jpg

Last edited:

Basement_Lurker

One who lurks
Reaction score
big problems happen when people try to make small changes....just stick with what's tried and true and your wife will have one less thing to nag you over lol

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com