Advise for pulling a pump in Honduras

Users who are viewing this thread

JimKiefer

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

My name is Jim Kiefer. I am a pastor in SE Missouri and have a dear friend and missionary in Honduras who has an orphanage and is having trouble with his well pump and I am looking for advise, tips, and tricks that may help get his water back on.

Any advice or thoughts would be very appreciated.

Specifics:
Well is located south of Choluteca, Honduras
400' deep
1 1/4" galv pipe
3 hp pump (don't have dimensions yet)

Problem:
Neighbor kids left water open and ran pump dry and burned pump out.
Complication:
Went to pull pump and hit a snag at 300'. Hit solid. attempting to pull up has bent steel tube frame set up over well. Currently pump is not stuck and can be moved freely below 300'

Other info:
There was an earthquake there several months back so there is a concern that maybe the hole has shifted partially blocking the well hole.
The crew that dug the well has a camera but it is in another part of the country currently and we are unsure when they will return to the area.
He is currently hauling water for two households and the orphanage but that is not a long term sustainable solution.
Barry was a diesel mechanic prior to moving to Honduras and is very mechanically inclined. He has pulled this pump in the past and is very familiar and capable with it.

Equipment available: Has a winch and pulley set up. Has a backhoe available if needed.

Barry has a blog that you can check out if you feel so inclined at:
http://www.childrenslighthouse.blogspot.com/
Thank you for any help or suggestion!
Jim Kiefer

Texas Wellman

In the Trades
Reaction score
Are you absolutely certain that the pump/ motor is bad?