Advice for venting toilet and tub together

Users who are viewing this thread

Matt Rademacher

Reaction score
Thanks for all the great previous help. Next question:

Can the tub vent through the 3" toilet waste line and use toilet vent?
IMG_1362.jpg

My guess is no, so could this work below?
I could come off the tub drain with a 2" santee on it's back, in the floor joist, then about 16" horizontal, then up.

AND, this would be wet vent for toilet?

IMG_1363.jpg

Thanks for your thoughts!

Matt Rademacher

Reaction score
I'm an owner/ builder, not a plumber. Appreciate all your help!
Ok, better than my drawings.... Everything is just tacked up, without cutting any joist holes.

Below, toilet coming down, 2 90s then 1 90 down through top plates
Shower drain enters vertical 3" with a combo. Before combo, shower drain enters into a 2" Santee,
with 2" vent out top, and about 16" horizontal than up.
So toilet would wet vent through combo and out with tub vent?
(second photo from opposite direction)

IMG_1369.jpg

IMG_1368.jpg

Matt Rademacher

Reaction score
Yes, Thanks James, that could work for me.

1. 3X2" Santee on it's back to vent the toilet OK?

2. 1/2" vent for tub, tie into 2" toilet vent in ceiling for one roof penetration OK?

3. What is best fitting for 2" shower drain to toilet 90 going down wall in 3" pipe?

Can I use this? black-abs-fittings-c58079hd33112-64_1000.jpg

I could use this and a 2" medium 90 down into the top if I have space?black-nibco-abs-fittings-c5861lhhd332-64_1000.jpg

Thank you,
Matt

James Henry

In the Trades
Reaction score
Yes, Thanks James, that could work for me.

1. 3X2" Santee on it's back to vent the toilet OK?

2. 1/2" vent for tub, tie into 2" toilet vent in ceiling for one roof penetration OK?

3. What is best fitting for 2" shower drain to toilet 90 going down wall in 3" pipe?

Can I use this? View attachment 62928

I could use this and a 2" medium 90 down into the top if I have space?View attachment 62929

Thank you,
Matt