Adding lights to existing circuit while finishing the basement

Users who are viewing this thread

Chris Curtin

Reaction score
Hi,

I have a permit to finish the basement. In the county I live there is only the rough in inspection, then the final approval. No separate electrical inspection. Homeowner can do their own electrical in GA.

The basement has 6 existing lights, of course in the wrong place for what we're building. I know I can move them myself, but can I add all the other fixtures (recessed LEDs) on that existing circuit and not have an inspection issue since they are obviously new? I know a new circuit has to be 'rough' for the inspection.

Thanks
Chris

John Gayewski

In the Trades
Reaction score
Yes.

I'm not an electrician, but as far as I know you can add as many lights as you want. The limiting factors are the type of wire and the breaker size. 14-2 can be used on a lighting circuit, but only a15 amp breaker. So how many lights on a 15 amp breaker? Not sure depends on the type of light. 80 percent of 15 amps is 12 amps. You can have 12 amps worth of lights on a 15 amp breaker with 14-2 wire.

This is how I understand the requirements.

Chris Curtin

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. I'm thinking more about the inspector looking at the new LED light fixtures and saying 'no way did your lazy builder do that' and fail me since those new wires/fixtures are live before the inspection.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score