ABS water closet "Knock Out" what a pain..........

Users who are viewing this thread

Rotaris

If its not broke, fix it until it is!
Reaction score
Hello all. Newbie here so go easy on me:)

Being a perfectionist and a complete amateur, I have a question regarding the Knock-out of a 4x3 Abs toilet flange.
I do believe it will take me longer to remove the knockout than install the whole bathroom.
Couple questions:

1. I am not clear on how to "clean-up" the edges of the knockout.
2. Should the "knock-out" be all the way to the edge of the flange for a smooth transition? Is my hole to small?
there is a rather large raised lip so I think size is correct? Seems crappy (no pun) to have a "Lip for waste/paper to "Hang-up" on???
Thank you in Advance

Attachments

• IMG_3759.JPG
    IMG_3759.JPG
    65.8 KB · Views: 2,237
  • IMG_3760.JPG
    IMG_3760.JPG
    68.3 KB · Views: 677

Reach4

Reaction score
If you have not yet installed it, replace it with a better flange -- one that has a metal (stainless steel is better) ring.

That does not look like a Sioux Chief or Oatey. Name and shame that piece you bought.

If you already glued it in, you could hit it with a curved rasp.

Rotaris

Reaction score
"plumber installed" right after my concrete was poured:( ...its in my garage) so its there to stay!
So just to be clear...should the opening be all the way to the "Wall" of the pipe?
If yes, I could take a "punch" all around the outside edge??
Sure seems like it is "Supposed" to be to the little recessed edge...
I just dont like the "lip" it is going to have.
Double checked name:
Manufactur name says "canplas" in Canada eh!???
Yikes wish I had asked some questions before he put it in...

Attachments

• IMG_3762.JPG
    IMG_3762.JPG
    66.6 KB · Views: 824

Rotaris

Reaction score
"plumber installed" right after my concrete was poured:( ...its in my garage) so its there to stay!
So just to be clear...should the opening be all the way to the "Wall" of the pipe?