About to have the water heater replaced. Connection question.

Users who are viewing this thread

GilLennox

Reaction score
I have an older CraftMaster water heater we are looking to replace; it has been installed at least 23 years and I am ashamed to admit, I never maintained it such as drain flushing and replacing the anode rod periodically, yet it is still working well apparently. Though I suspect not as efficient most likely from scale deposits. The water heater has brass nipples connecting between the heater and galvanized steel water pipes.
One plumber stated he was going to install copper lines to the galvanized steel lines; I suspect he wanted to make it easy for him as copper can be trimmed fairly easy. He did not mention dielectric fittings and I did not ask. I hope he intended to do. Another plumber stated he was going to use all galvanized piping. Given that the water tank has lasted this long with brass nipples; My question is: Is it advisable to request brass nipples again on the new water heater? My thought is somehow the brass connections were a factor in the water heater longevity or did I just get lucky and it is purely coincidental?

Last edited:

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
did I just get lucky and it is purely coincidental?

You got lucky.
Water heaters come with dielectric nipples anyway. Brass is nice, but what they come with works too.
I use corrugated copper, which happens to have dielectric ends too. I'm in earthquake country, so it's what our inspectors expect.

Last edited:

Master Plumber Mark

Sensitivity trainer and plumber of mens souls
Reaction score
indianapolis indiana - land of the free, home of
Website
www.weilhammerplumbing.com
I would not go to the trouble of messing with the fittings already on a
new water heater unless you dont have anything else better to do with your time

We have found that the galvanized fittings and nipples seems to be getting eaten up very