A strange problem with Rainbird system

Users who are viewing this thread

Frankish Knight

Reaction score
When I turn on the water to fill my sprinkler system this spring I have three heads in one particular zone that start going off. This happens without the controller and electrical stuff plugged in(just the water is on). Anyone know the problem?

Verdeboy

In the Trades
Reaction score
Open Zone Valve

It just means that particular zone valve had been left (at least partially) open during the winter. You can manually close it if you want. Plug in your control box and see if you can open and close all the zone valves.

Frankish Knight

Reaction score
Verdeboy said:
It just means that particular zone valve had been left (at least partially) open during the winter. You can manually close it if you want. Plug in your control box and see if you can open and close all the zone valves.

I'm new to this. Where would this "zone valve" be located? Is it out in my yard? or where the control box is?

What do you mean by "left open during the winter?"

Also how would I "manually close it?"

Frankish Knight

Reaction score
Hmmm think I know where the valves are now. They are out in my yard in a box in the ground. I'm gonna check it tomorrow as its 1:00am right now. Ill report back tomorrow with results. Thanks for the help so far!:)

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
If you have Rainbird valves, they can be opened manually by turning the small knurled knob on top of the valves. There will be a stream of water from both sides of the knob. These are left closed for normal automatic operation.

Frankish Knight

Reaction score
Ok inside the box I found three valves with little knobs on top. I cant tell if they are open or closed, but all three appear to be in the same position. I turned one of them and a small stream of water came out.

So I need them closed right? for normal automatic operation. If so, I believe they are all closed already.:confused:

Gary Swart