800Sqft home copper repipe job by a semi novice who needs advice

Users who are viewing this thread

gica69

Reaction score
Hello to all, I have taken on the task of helping a friend repipe his new old home. I have some experience with copper soldering from when I did my house. Got that covered.
We have opened the walls to expose all of the pipes and wanted to make sure I am doing everything properly.
First off the main as it stands in the basement is 1 inch and reduced to 3/4" as it enters the house, from there some of the 3/4 turn to 1/2 for the cold and some stays the same at 3/4. Don't know if the 3/4 goes to the boiler as hot supply line or changes to 1/2 as well to the boiler. There are 2 baths each with 1 toilet, 1 bath or shower and 1 sink. In the kitchen, which is on the opposite side of the house, there is a sink and he wants to add a dish washer next to the sink. So need help with the piping on that dishwasher. The kitchen hot water goes across the living room from the boiler, the cold gets split from the main through a T the other goes to the boiler as I think 3/4 supply line as I stated before. Outside next to the boiler there is the washer and drier and he might relocate them don't know yet where. There is also a water source outside for the hose one the back side of the sink from the kitchen. Oh and the furthest bathroom is hot/cold supplied from the outside washer.
I know the boiler has to go because it looks old and hot water is yellowish, better safe than sorry. He was thinking either same type boiler with gas, or tankless. Maybe someone can advise.
Do I keep the pipes at the same sizes as the original design from the 40-50s or is the double reduction1" to 1/2" too much. Do I end up with 1/2 pipe size or should I do 3/4 reduced from the 1 inch main. Can that be more beneficial? Do not know the city water pressure to do the math on this. Thanks in advance and look forward to the coaching.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx