2 line jet pump to fill storage tank

Users who are viewing this thread

slowgsr

Reaction score
Hi. Can I use my 2 line jet pump to fill an atmospheric storage tank? 500gal.

I'm unsure if this type of pump can operate without backpressure. I suppose once the pressure tank has water in it, that force would provide some back pressure.

I have a low yield well, and I'd like to fill a storage tank at off peak hydro times, running for maybe a few minutes per hour using a timer setup.

The wiring, float system etc I can figure out easily (I'm an electrician). I've hooked up sewage grinder pumps controls, floats etc in the past. I'm just unsure about the specific pump qualities of a 2 line jet pump.

It's a 3' dia 110ft dig well lined with precast.

Thanks!

Reach4

Reaction score
You can. You don't want the tailpiece sucking air, because you don't want to lose prime. Sometimes people use a 35 ft tailpiece, which cannot suck air. That is because the pressure drop in 35 ft is more than atmospheric pressure.

A 1/2 HP submersible with a flow inducer, maybe on its side, would be quieter and more efficient. If you do that, you could use one of the existing pipes as an electrical conduit.

Either way, you probably also want to put in a device that senses the change in current and identifies the pump being out of water. It then shuts off the pump for an interval that you set. Cycle Sensor is one such device. http://www.cyclestopvalves.com/prod_sensor.html Pumptec and Pumpsaver Plus are others.

Last edited:

Boycedrilling

In the Trades
Reaction score
Reach did not understand your question.

Yes you can run the 2 line jet pump. It should already have a back pressure valve installed on it. If it doesn’t, you will need to use a valve to keep a minimum bsckpressure on the pump. The reason for this is to send the proper amount of water back down the well to the jet assembly to force the water to the surface.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score