11.5" rough -- choosing Toto Carlyle II, Vespin II, or Carolina II

Users who are viewing this thread

Scribbles

Reaction score
Hi everyone, we're doing a gut bath renovation and have discovered that the distance between finished wall and center of flange is 11.5". I've done as much math and homework as possible to figure out what's best but, being a total novice, have a few final questions. Please help!

I've read a bunch of threads in this forum (best website ever) and have investigated the specs to determine the clearance behind the tank for each model. A this stage, we're trying to choose between the Toto Carlyle II, Vespin II, and Carolina II toilets. Here's what I can figure, from the specs:
  • The Carlyle II and Vespin II both show 3/4" clearance behind the tank. Using the 12" Unifit adapter, that should give us 1/4" clearance (3/4" minus (12" minus 11.5")).
  • The Carolina II appears to have 1 3/8" clearance, which would give us 7/8" clearance once installed with the 12" rough-in.
  • We originally fell in love with the look of the Aquia II but w/ 1/2" clearance from tank to wall, it felt like a gamble to leave ourselves zero breathing room.
My contractor isn't fully convinced by the math/specs and suggested we buy both the 12" and 10" Unifit adapters. That way, if we can't make it work at the 12" rough, we can use the 10".
  • Our preference is leaving as small a gap between the tank and wall as possible. Is it a reasonable likelihood that we'll have to go w/ the 10"? If so, we would have a 2 1/4" gap behind the tank with the Carlyle and Vespin, and 2 7/8" with the Carolina. That seems like A LOT!