Search results

1. WestMIchigan

CoolCalc vs loadcalc

Thanks for the reply. I am pretty sure I was able to set the outside temperature but I can double check. I am using a ductless mini split so while a good suggestion the duct sizing tool isn't really applicable here.
  2. WestMIchigan

CoolCalc vs loadcalc

In my post I mentioned I used loadcalc, it is even in my thread title. Not sure what you were asking me to do since I already did that and gave the results in my original post.
  3. WestMIchigan

CoolCalc vs loadcalc

I ran both programs and came up with wildly different answers. I am finishing my basement and adding heat to a bathroom that the current HVAC doesn't handle well. Both more or less agree on the cooling load but are off by a factor of 2.5 on the heating load. I have a master bathroom with lots...
  4. WestMIchigan

Anyone Own a Heat Pump Water Heater

I turn it off in the winter because I am undersized and need every BTU I can get for the house.
  5. WestMIchigan

That is a good idea, but not sure I can foot the cost of both right now. I certainly like the idea though.
  6. WestMIchigan

Thanks for the replies. My geothermal system is slightly undersized and after thinking about it a little, any heat removed from the basement will just make my geo have to work that much harder and force me into strip heaters even sooner. I guess I am going to suck it up and go with the same...
  7. WestMIchigan

So how do I calculate this? Obviously my approach failed miserably.
  8. WestMIchigan

Let's say I emptied the water heater so I have to heat 80 gallons of water. If I did the math correctly 80 gal requires about 44600BTU. Assuming 0.018 BTU to cool 1 cu ft those 44600 BTUs will cool a 13200 cu ft basement by 187 degrees. (13200*0.18 = 237.6 BTU/°F in my basement...
  9. WestMIchigan

Looks like you live in a fairly warm climate. Wondering how this will do in a mostly finished basement in Michigan?
  10. WestMIchigan