Search results

1. K

Water coming out of 'overflow' in brine tank

Well, not sure if it's completely fixed; however, the system regenerated itself 2 days ago, and all appears to be well - no flooding/overflowing, no standing water in the brine tank, etc. I will have to monitor it to see what happens.
  2. K

In other words, it can now shut off the water, BUT some other malfunction is responsible for the water getting too high; understood. Right - which is why I went with the one guy in this area who installs almost nothing but Fleck and Clack control valve water softener systems. Got one...
  3. K

Yeah, I know, obvious question. I'm a computer geek, and can answer darn near any question about those; but I'm new to the world of water softeners, though I'm trying to be a true, SMART DIY'er, and learn from mistakes. I'm not sure that's the only problem, however; have a friend of mine who's...
  4. K

Doing some quick research, I have discovered a few things: 1. The water inside the brine well is just even with the overflow elbow. (Duh.) 2. More importantly, I noticed that the float rod was all the way up (as it should have been, since the water level was obviously too high), but the...
  5. K

So I ordered and had installed a Fleck 5600 Econominder, 1.5 cu ft resin, 48K grains water softener. Suffice to say that it is DEFINITELY doing its job - there is an obvious difference in our water quality in all ways (showers, dishes, etc.) However, I noticed that after the second...
  6. K

Questions about water softener choice...

Easy enough to answer: - not a big tub - my wife and I can stand up in it to take a shower, but only if we're in a hurry to take a shower (or, ahem, not in a hurry ;)) - 1 body spray - haven't drilled out any flow-restriction in the shower head - it works just fine as is - 1 bathroom (we...
  7. K