Search results

1. pipewoe

Advantage Lumber?

Has anyone ordered wood online through Advantage Lumber for decking? Any advice/problems? Thanks!
  2. pipewoe

ductless heat pump vs gas

I've got a 1250 sq foot 50's ranch (Seattle) with a 35+ year old elec. forced air furnace. I'm looking to replace/upgrade and am curious about the new ductless heat pumps on the market. Seattle has a pretty good rebate right now, so I am considering it. Does anyone have experience w/this new...
  3. pipewoe

height of border in tub surround?

Hey all, Getting ready to tile. I'm putting in a 6x8 tile oriented vertically in the tub surround which is 73.5 inches from tub edge to ceiling. I plan on adding a 4-5 inch penny-round tile border amid the field tile. Question is: is there a "standard height" at which a border should be...
  4. pipewoe

E-Z drywall tape?

Finally time to drywall the bath. As a novice, I've read alot online about tape vs mesh, etc. I just found a product called E-Z drywall taping system that has a self-adhesive tape to cover the seams, then put 2 more coats of mud on. No embedding the tape step. Has anyone used this? It seems...
  5. pipewoe

can a door swing outwards?

Hi--having problems with the space in my bath remodel. I installed a pocket door but am not happy with the sense of "flimsiness" it brings. The toilet is oriented parallel with the door with the front edge of the toilet even with the door opening which means when someone is sitting, their...
  6. pipewoe

tile underlayment over subfloor

Hi, I've gutted down to the old subfloor in my bath remodel and want to reinforce it a bit w/plywood overlay prior to backerboard and tile. The room is 8x8 w/customary 5 foot tub, one closet, one w/d alcove. Is it acceptable to cut multiple rectangles for all the little spaces, or do I need...
  7. pipewoe

hot water pipe near elec.wire