Search results

1. Sam R

Simple question about sill sealing a pipe combing up through concrete slab

Cool, I'll give it a shot! Thank you so much for taking the time to help - very kind of you.
  2. Sam R

Wonderful, thank you so much! Do you usually wrap the associated floor drain too? Or is it better to leave that flush with the concrete after it is poured (no gap) for drainage purposes?
  3. Sam R

Hi all, I am a total DIY novice, but trying to learn. I received a lot of help here previously with this project and wanted to ask a simple question: I had a professional jackhammer up a ~1 foot x 1 foot area of concrete slab in my basement and replace a leaking galvanized drain pipe (now...
  4. Sam R

New to plumbing - help with utility sink drain and water hookup

Cool, thanks Tuttles and Tughillrzr! I didn't think that the galvie might be attached to cast iron underneath - super helpful. That should be a simpler job than ripping the whole pipe out and more satisfying/durable than a patch. It's wedged in behind a WH and furnace, but I can probably squeeze...
  5. Sam R

Hey all, One step forward and one backward and could use some advice! Recall that I am trying to hook a basement sink up to an old galvanized drain that wasn't being used in the basement (the rest of my house has been upgraded to ABS and drains into our home's main drain above the grade of...
  6. Sam R

Thanks Reach4, I have someone coming to do the moss already (one of the many to-dos after moving in). If I can find out that that is actually the vent for my future hookup I can see if they are willing to uncap it or saw it off. Thanks so much!
  7. Sam R

Thanks, Tuttles! Yeah that all makes sense. I will explore a little more. Might end up hiring someone to take a look at the drain/vent since this is starting to exceed my knowledge/skills as a first-time homeowner and I'd hate to hook a sink up to a rough in with a non-functional drain or vent...
  8. Sam R