Search results

1. Blue Oak

Cheap pump update

Let me get this straight. You installed a pump that you didn't think was going to last 6 months? Was the plan to replace it every 4 months for the rest of your life?
  2. Blue Oak

Moving water tanks up the hill for more pressure - Need advice on piping

Some further improvements including burying the pipe underground the rest of the way including under the retaining wall, and adding a poor man's fire hydrant in the form of a 2" ball valve. Watering the yard with a golf course hose is pretty awesome. Also putting in a paver patio and steps...
  3. Blue Oak

New water softner installation

I mean the water supply coming into your house is connected to the OUTPUT fitting on the water softener, and the water line going to your shower and faucets is connected to the INPUT fitting on the softener. I did exactly that (I'm not a pro lol) and had black looking water coming out before...
  4. Blue Oak

New water softner installation

Sounds like the water softener was plumbed backwards to me. They use some charcoal to help with the process and if water flows backwards through the softener, it'll flow out black.
  5. Blue Oak

Around here, operational firefighters are allowed to go in and you know, fight the fires. I'm not worried one bit about not getting past the CHP or Sheriff checkpoint. In all actuality, my water supply is MUCH more likely to be used to fill our tender and fight a fire up the road from me. My...
  6. Blue Oak

Since I'm an operational firefighter and station an engine in my driveway, I can hook up to my tanks and run a hose right back up to them. I think they'll work just fine for my purposes.
  7. Blue Oak

Checking in, four months later. I had the proverbial "cold rush of shit to the heart" when I was out front smugly watching my sprinklers water my landscaping- just to see the water pressure fall and die in front of my very eyes. My brother was trying to be helpful when he said, "maybe it's the...