Kinetico Model 60 issues

Users who are viewing this thread

Steve P.

Reaction score
Hello, I have a 1993 vintage Model 60. Its been re-bed a few times, but lately a couple of issues have come up.

1. It wont change over to the next tank automatically, I have to do that manually daily. This is a non-electric model.

2. When the cycle starts, if there is any water running in the house there will be a lot of dark water for a few minutes. When I run it manually, I make sure no one is running water. We typically wait till the cycle is complete before running water again. Sometimes we get the accidental toilet flush.

I have inspected the "water meters" and they flow freely. The valves inside also move freely and everything is very clean. When it cycles, it takes the same amount of time around 25-30 minutes.

Any tips or advise would be very helpful.

Steve

WorldPeace

Reaction score
Steve,
I am relatively new to this, but I'll try to help as I have done a few months of research.

Kinetico is a really overpriced product, considering water softeners are pretty much standardized these days. Water softeners simply consist of resin beads, a tank to hold them in, and a controller to direct the flow of water. Everything else is marketing. I wouldn't necessarily buy their products but a good website to learn about water softeners is here. Got tons of helpful information.

It looks like your controller is malfunctioning. Kinetico replacement parts are expensive to replace. You have to buy them through Kinetico and they apparently charge an arm and a leg. Search this forum and there are very similar posts to yours.

Hopefully, someone could chime in with suggestions on how to repair your water softener. But, if it can't be fixed, consider replacing your unit with a solid brand that has a Fleck or Autotrol controller. It'll only cost about $700, and it'll last just as long as the Kinetico.

Steve P.

Reaction score