Best way to vent my tub

Users who are viewing this thread

Isaac H

Reaction score
So long story short, I am new to plumbing and am a homeowner plumbing the house I bought 1 year ago. Replumbed the whole thing myself so far, but it's a small house and fairly simple. This one thing has really got me confused though. The vent location for the clawfoot tub I'm installing is in the opposite direction of the stack I have to get to. I have what I thought to be my best solution dry fit (please note the slope is not currently correct, I did not cut my vent pipe shorter yet because I'm not sure what solution I'm going to end up with), but then realized I may not be to code. However my other option is potentially worse. I've attached pictures of what I have and my second idea, I'd love some advice on which one is better, or if I have another solution I'm not seeing. Thanks in advance!

What I have now:

PXL_20210921_150339367.jpg

Option #2:

PXL_20210921_142015809.jpg

Isaac H

Reaction score
Side note. You can see the way I'm attaching into the stack. I have another sink that will enter into the bottom sanitary t, and I have a shower that will enter at the top of the top sanitary t. That shower will be vented normally, so if I brought that line into the one for tub about halfway down would that be a satisfactory wet vent and I could ignore this vent for the claw foot anyway? Kind of a crappy drawing here, but hopefully gets the idea across?

Attachments

• PXL_20210921_150339367~2.jpg
    PXL_20210921_150339367~2.jpg
    89.8 KB · Views: 195

Isaac H

Reaction score
Option 2 keeps the vent vertical.
Right, but is the 180° vertical change of direction an issue, and can I use two street 90s to make that change? Thank you for your quick reply!

Also, the p trap I got is a screw together one. Should I get a glue up one of I plan to potentially finish this basement one day?

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score