Moen 1222 Cartridge , tub & shower valve

Users who are viewing this thread

Swax

Reaction score
I am a HVAC mechanic \ jack of all trades . I installed this valve at my daughters home, during a tear out and rebuild entire house project. I also installed a natural gas whole house on-demand hot water system. All lines are PEX 3/4 until short runs near fixtures, than 1/2 copper L. Daughter tells me a few days ago, she cannot get a hot bath, just warm water, and the shower works perfect, will scald you if you adjust valve to full hot water. I looked at it and was set at 100% . White plastic gears line up, straight-up. As your turning valve open ,and have hand under spout ! it gets very hot for a second and goes to mild warm. Daughter tells me it has been like this since day one, but just started to use the tub because of a knee problem. Showerhead can be removed as a hand head shower. She is using the hand held shower to fill the tub with hot water. The water coming from the spout is greater than the shower head. However the on-demand water heater, never has a problem with too much water only too little. To me it is odd, because its the same water only being diverted to the shower head, by pulling the stop up on the spout. I did not see, this problem listed.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
If it's a Moen Posi-Temp valve, it starts off cold and gradually gets hot as you swing it counter clockwise.
If it starts hot, then the cartridge needs reversing.

moen_posi-temp.jpg

With hot plumbed to the left side, the H is on the left.
If the piping is reversed, lift the clip, pull the cartridge and insert it 180 degrees off.

Swax

Reaction score
If it's a Moen Posi-Temp valve, it starts off cold and gradually gets hot as you swing it counter clockwise.
If it starts hot, then the cartridge needs reversing.

moen_posi-temp.jpg

With hot plumbed to the left side, the H is on the left.