Shower base -- this doesn't look right

Users who are viewing this thread

Sean35

Reaction score
EDIT: meant to say shower base, no idea why I typed bed.

Hi all -- so I'm a novice, but I'm trying to learn everything I can so that I can do things right the first time, so please excuse anything I say that may sound stupid.

Story: House built in the 50s, purchased in 2013. The basement has a bathroom that was never updated (asbestos on the walls and ceiling, toilet that was manufactured when Eisenhower was president), other than that it appears the previous owner started work on either adding or renovating a shower. There is backer board, an old shower head and handles, and a sloped concrete floor leading to a drain, but there's no reason for me to believe that the shower had been used in the previous 30 years, if ever. I never used it except to test that water ran, but I decided in recent days that I should get to work on it. I cut off the drain, and when doing my research, sounds as if getting rid of the CI p-trap is a must. I started taking a rotary hammer to it this morning, and stopped after about 15-30 minutes when I started seeing sparks in areas where I didn't anticipate a pipe. Here is what I saw:

sean35-01.jpg

sean35-02.jpg

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I have not seen that before. Maybe some really old school plumbers have an idea. Could that have been a floor drain that they used? Looks to be a 4" fitting in the concrete?

sean35-03.jpg

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score
Total guess--a floor drain branch was repurposed to serve a new adjacent shower drain, and they just left the old floor drain in place and concreted over it?

Seems like the only way to proceed is expanding the area to be excavated to see what's going on.

Cheers, Wayne

Sean35

Reaction score
I had some time at lunch to work at it at bit more:

sean35-04.jpg

sean35-05.jpg

sean35-06.jpg