Polybutylene crimpers

Users who are viewing this thread

frodo

In the Trades
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I am a commercial plumber, I have not plumbed a house since the 80"s
I was going through my barn and came across my old poly crimpers. Last time I used them was '83
Being as I do not fool with PEX. I only run copper So I have no clue. I started wondering if these crimpers will work on PEX. pipe is the same OD but is the crimp compatibly crimpable? LOL

Has anyone run into this, If so, would you mind giving me your findings

PlumbNuts

SC Licensed Plumbing Contractor
Reaction score
Website
riverviewplumbingrepair.com
Hey guys,
I am a commercial plumber, I have not plumbed a house sense the 80"s
I was going through my barn and came across my old poly crimpers. Last time I used them was '83
Being as i do not fool with PEX. I only run copper So I have no clue. I started wondering if these crimpers will work on PEX. pipe is the same OD but is the crimp compatibly crimpable? LOL

Has anyone run into this, If so, would you mind giving me your findings
No, the OD on a PEX crimp ring and the OD on a poly crimp ring are slightly different; when I have to use a PEX to poly adapter they come with the rings included and the PEX is copper and stamped "PEX" whereas the poly is a black coated copper ring. If you use the wrong one on either side it will leak.

sharkbite_pb_pex.jpg

The gray side is for polybutylene.

frodo

In the Trades
Reaction score
I wouldn't use them on any PEX.
Thanks for the answer,

No, the OD on a PEX crimp ring and the OD on a poly crimp ring are slightly different; when I have to use a PEX to poly adapter they come with the rings included and the PEX is copper and stamped "PEX" whereas the poly is a black coated copper ring. If you use the wrong one on either side it will leak.
CRAP. Ok. thanks guys.

frodo

In the Trades
Reaction score
I was awarded a trophy, Is it worth money? A coupon, Biggy fry?