Removing stub out from sanitary tee

Users who are viewing this thread

Lois Lane

Reaction score
I am a novice at plumbing. I am replacing my pedestal sink, and I would like to minimize this unsightly mess behind the pedestal. I removed the male/male threaded brass trap adaptor. The brass trap adaptor was screwed into a threaded female PVC adaptor that is glued over a piece of PVC pipe that is glued to the sanitary Tee. I think I got the lingo right. Am I best off just removing everything back to the sanitary Tee. I was going to try the heating the PVC pipe from the inside with a hole saw trick. Any chance of damaging the sanitary tee this way?

Attachments

• PXL_20210131_212121430.jpg
    PXL_20210131_212121430.jpg
    55.8 KB · Views: 166

Lois Lane

Reaction score
Sounds much easier than what I was planning, and I get to buy a new tool! So I would ream it out the length of the adaptor that is over the PVC pipe, and them proceed as usual, to remove and replace the PVC pipe at the sanitary tee. I did see the picture of the giant escutcheon you have. That might work if I could find one! But I hate to reuse all the old stuff. The brass trap adaptor never screwed all the way into the PVC.

PXL_20210201_142822522.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score
Often the trap adapter would be a 1-1/2 inch trap adapter, and the adaptation would be with the reducing washer.
green-everbilt-faucet-washers-c7198c-64_145.jpg

Or use a trap adapter with a 1-1/4 input is ok too.

An alternative is to use a 1-1/2 inch slip joint trap, and to have the reducing washer at the tailpiece.

If it fits your needs, you could/should glue a "spigot" trap adapter right into the hub, and not have a piece of pipe between the santee and the trap adapter.
white-nibco-pvc-fittings-c480127hd112114-d4_145.jpg
The words on the drawing are Spigot and Slip-Joint.

Last edited:

Lois Lane

Reaction score