Culligan iron cleer replacement recommendations?

Users who are viewing this thread

boostnut

Reaction score
Ok, I'll try to make this short. My current equipment is a Culligan Medalist softener and a Culligan iron cleer unit, both installed in 2002. I replaced the resin in the softener with Purolite a few months ago. I've been bypassing the iron cleer unit for over 6 months. It needed attention, the drain line was constantly running water. I attempted to disassemble and repair but I broke the main piston in the process. Frustrated, I unplugged it and set it to bypass.

Now, today's situation. The morning after the softener regens our water is stained orange. Running cold water at a couple of faucets for around 5 minutes clears things up but nobody wants to deal with that. I bumped the backwash time to 16 and brine rinse time to 66, that didn't make any difference. I'm assuming I need to deal with the iron prior to all of it reaching the softener. So, here's the data from our most recent lab tests:
Barium - 0.26
Fluoride - 0.692
Iron - 4
Manganese - 75 (ppb)
Zinc - 0.013

Keep in mind I'm on a community well with 15 other homes. The sample was not taken from my home but should be representative of my water.

Also, I should mention that we are not chlorinating the raw well water, only adding flouride.

So, am I on the right track thinking it's time to replace the iron cleer unit? If so, what's the go-to solution given the high iron content of our water?

Reach4

Reaction score

boostnut

Reaction score

Water Guy

In the Trades
Reaction score
Yes, the iron cleer unit has a top mounted air pump. And yes, fluoride is being added, not at my home but at the community well. No chlorine.