C Carbon Backwash system suggestion

Users who are viewing this thread

amoncarter

Reaction score
I'm new at this and trying to identify relevant info from these amazing discussions but have given up and need to ask for help.

I have city water (chloramine) and so am looking at the CCarbon backwash solutions. I don't need the softening solutions that seem to be driving a lot of similar threads. The wife hates the feel of soft water so salt is out...

I have 3 baths/4 people. so that seems to be a 1.5 to 2.5 size scenario. I started with the BB filters but after reading this forum, realized the size of filter and exposed media is significant to have any effect so I'm looking at whole house backwash choices but I'm lost in the discussions of valves and tanks in terms of quality/price/reliability.

Fleck/Clack seem to be in softening, so who should I be looking at for a good valve/tank choice or a complete system from a specific vendor, if the media in my case is not resin but just C Carbon.

I'm planning to add a scalecutter conditioner downstream before it gets to my tankless, as its now sold by Rinnai and I'm assuming that its legit but wanted to ask if anyone saw any issue with that.

Bannerman

Reaction score
Carbon's filtration ability will be most effective with a flow rate between 1-3 gpm per cubic foot of media. A range is specified as some contaminants such as Chloramine are more stubborn to remove than others so slower flow through the media will provide longer contact time for the adsorption and catalyzation to occur. For this reason, for point-of-entry filter system applications, it's always best to use the largest quantity of carbon for your usage flow rate.