Will Sharkbite Work On Copper With Leftover Solder

Users who are viewing this thread

atw58

Reaction score
I'm planning to tuck copper pipes below floor joists to avoid bulkheads in a drywall ceiling and want to cut the pipe then use a push on fitting because the pipe is very close to the joist. You can see the char marks on the wood from the original installer. If there is still solder on the copper will Sharkbite connector still work. I may need to cut the pipe with a dremel or hacksaw then find a way to deburr/smooth the outside edge.

Helper Dave

In the Trades
Reaction score
No, it will not. All fittings need a smooth surface to seal.

If there's a lot of solder, try and pick it off with a blade or chisel. Then smooth it up with sand cloth, or similar.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
As a plumber, I have done it. I heat the pipe and wipe off the solder with a rag. Then I use emory cloth to sand it. It's doable. At least by me and others. I'm not saying everyone can do this though. But I'm guessing that if you follow my instructions, you will be able to do it too.

Reach4

Reaction score
As a plumber, I have done it. I heat the pipe and wipe off the solder with a rag. Then I use emory cloth to sand it. It's doable. At least by me and others. I'm not saying everyone can do this though. But I'm guessing that if you follow my instructions, you will be able to do it too.
If he could heat the pipe enough to wipe, he could probably solder a copper coupling.

atw58

Reaction score