Heating stopped working

Users who are viewing this thread

Edgar Miller

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I'm back. Sorry for the delay but I was busy with some other things in my wife's vegetable garden (springtime in Texas).
I tried to open the unit (btw, it's a Rheem Criterion II furnace) but, for the life of me, I couldn't pry it open.
However, I managed to finally find the installation manual (over 50 pages) and I'm studying it right now.
Luckily, the winter seems to be over in our neck of the woods so we don't really need heating, but, of course, it needs to be fixed.

Reach4

Reaction score
I don't know your furnaces, but mine have had to be lifted up before pulling out.

Edgar Miller

Reaction score
I've tried that too and I can't get it open.
The install manual doesn't mention it.
I've sort of given up. Will call in the cavalry when the heating period arrives in fall.
Thanks for all the input.
Ed

Reach4

Reaction score
Will call in the cavalry when the heating period arrives in fall.
A dedicated procrastinator I see.
rc22_3.jpg
Looks like this?

If so, what are those circles in the top corners of the top panel?

Edgar Miller

Reaction score
Son of a gun! Got it open. :D
Here are 2 pics.
Hope they help.

Attachments

• furnace1.jpg
    furnace1.jpg
    123.4 KB · Views: 162
  • furnace2.jpg
    furnace2.jpg
    156.5 KB · Views: 164

Edgar Miller

Reaction score
Guys,
I guess the 2 images did nothing to enlighten anyone of you professionals.
What can I do next?

One other question, some of you, I'm sure, will find a silly one: where in the world is the AC part of the unit? The installation instructions only talk about the furnace, not a single word about the AC.

Last edited:

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score