Adding a bathroom, is this possible?

Users who are viewing this thread

Mike Ramsey

Reaction score
Hey guys long time lurker here but now I have a question on if something is even possible. I don't think it is. First off I will state that I am a carpenter and not a plumber LOL. I have a client that is wanting to do a renovation on their master bath. This is such a strange layout. It almost looks like a jack and jill type bathroom only it leads to another small room that is not a bedroom. Anyway.... my client wants to move the bathroom into the smaller room for a more traditional layout.

Here is the problem. All of the fixtures would need to move some 12'-18' horizontally from the main stack. The small room to be bath is above a garage so we can't drop a new stack. That lead me into building a chase across the garage ceiling to get under the joists. So the only way I can see this even working is a 4" lateral across the garage ceiling with a vertical drop at the garage wall with a 45 degree through the rim board extending 5' tying into the 4" stack with a wye. My gut tells me there is no way in hell that would fly.

I know there is a lot more to it than my simplistic explanation but without that bit of tying into the existing stack there is no need for me work up an estimate for the job. Apologies for the crude un-rotated visual.

Attachments

• sketch.jpg
    sketch.jpg
    63.1 KB · Views: 156

Mike Ramsey

Reaction score
This is NOT a job for a carpenter. Call a professional plumber.

No shit LOL That wasn't the point of this, of course I would have a plumber do it. Their whole project hinges on that one thing is even possible. If that can't happen then there is no point to even bidding on the rest. If it is possible I will proceed forward getting bids from plumbers if not I am not going to waste my time and let the client know that it is not feasible.