Gas Line Won't Hold Pressure, But Can't Find Gas Pipe

Users who are viewing this thread

MikeGA

Reaction score
I'm hoping some intelligent, experienced people can help me out here. Long time reader, first time poster.

I recently repiped all the gas lines in my house with black steel. While I am not a professional plumber by trade my father is a retired master HVAC technician and master plumber for 40 years, so with that, I have been working with gas black pipe and HVAC systems for 15 years.

The main is 1 1/4", then branches off to 3/4" and 1/2", depending on the appliance. I have been using RectorSeal T Plus 2 pipe dope for all of my jobs, including this one.

I did an air pressure test and found apparently there is a leak. I pump the system with 15 psi, then it loses about 1 psi every 15 minutes or so, then stabilizes at 10 psi.

Ive used Oatey leak detector, Windex, and soapy water on ALL joints and absolutely no bubbles. I'm completely baffled here.

My question to the group here is are there any high-tech tools or any other testing tools that I can use to identify the leak in any of the joints. Has this ever happened to anyone before? If so help me out here, I really don't want to remove the entire system and repipe it, now that the ductwork is up it's extremely difficult.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
I do not know of any magic but the basics? Are all ends capped off for the pressure test or any of it connected to an appliance? Sure your pressure gauge or fitting is not leaking? At the branch or tee, can you install a valve to close off each branch to narrow it down?

MikeGA

Reaction score