Shower valve/drop ear depth problem

Users who are viewing this thread

Plumb Sob

Reaction score
Ello,

I am installing one of those waterfall showers for someone.
When i install the valve at the prescribed depth and run the pipe vertically for the drop ear the
depth of the ear is too far recessed based on what i can tell from the Chinglish instructions.
If i tilt the pipe slightly forward then the arm that holds the head bends down and is not level.
I bent the pipe out then back to plumb to get the proper depth but then the pipe is proud of the studs. :mad:

The instructions call for a drop ear elbow and as a noob plumber i didn't know there were other options.
I am now finding out there are straight 1/2 sweat to 1/2 threaded things with drop ears.
This would be perfect because now we have changed to the niche being directly above the valve and
i elbowed in a c-shape around the niche so now i could come out level at the top and cut the pipe to the prescribed depth
drilling through the blocking that holds the ear.

But i can't find them at box stores and no plumbing stores are open tomorrow and i got to get the walls
closed up asap.

I did see an adapter thing that has 1/2 male threads to 1/2 female things which could work with the
90 elbow drop ear i have now. I would just recess the elbow ear enough so the pipe is within the wall
and the length of the adapter i think would get me to the right depth in relation to the finished tile wall.

Is that acceptable?

Thanks for reading.

Mliu

Reaction score
Photos and/or drawings (preferably both) would help immensely in these types of posts, especially when you're using obscure technical terms like "things."

It's unclear why you need the "adapter thing that has 1/2 male threads to 1/2 female things."

Plumb Sob

Reaction score
Yeah, sorry, not real familiar with the terms.

One of these~https://www.menards.com/main/plumbi...s-coupling/0121988/p-1444442666100-c-9432.htm