Do you say "Poe-table" or "Paw-table"?

• Poe-table

• Paw-table

Results are only viewable after voting.

Users who are viewing this thread

Cjlambert

Red-Seal Licensed Plumber
Reaction score
Hi everyone, my name's Chris. I'm new here. I've been plumbing for about 15 years, licensed for 10. I've worked mostly in new-construction of high-rise condominiums, but have also worked, and am currently working in new-construction and renovation of custom homes. I take pride in my work and am very particular. I am fortunate to have found employment where I am allowed, even encouraged to spend that bit of extra time and make everything nice.

Anyways, I just wanted to quickly introduce myself. I've thrown my two cents into a few threads on this forum already, hopefully providing some degree of assistance to the OP... but I've also come across some interesting and thought-provoking posts as well, which I wasn't really expecting. So I look forward to being a part of the community. Thanks for having me!

TL;DR

I'm fairly confident it's pronounced "poe-table," but I always say "paw-table" when speaking, because for whatever reason, I assume that's the pronunciation most people are familiar with.

I remember someone once explaining to me, "Yeah, its 'paw-table.' Like, you can put the water in a pot and cook with it, or drink it." I didn't, and still don't agree with this logic, but hey, I'm no English major.

So I'm curious, how do You say it?
Cast your vote, I'm interested to see the results.

Thanks! :)

Stuff

Reaction score
Dictionary says it is a long O but I've never heard it pronounced that way.

Reach4

Reaction score
Some people pronounce potash with a long O. I don't like that.

I am up in the air regarding Urine-us vs yer-Anus.

ImOld

Octogenerian
Reaction score