Checking sanity • well pump replacement

Users who are viewing this thread

Reaction score
Replacing an old 1/2 HP 230v Burks submersible tomorrow morning. Lots of pressure ups and downs. I'm not an electrician but I see it's run off a double 20amp breaker. Also, there are five wires connecting to the pump (1) red, (2) black and (2) white. Guessing that's 3/phase? The well's 105' deep according to records.

The company doing the work tomorrow did not visit and the quote includes a 1/2 HP 7 GPM Goulds pump, a good brand. Of course, it's just a quote, things could change. My interpretation of 1/2 HP motors is to use a 15amp breaker, so that's confusing already considering the double 20amp existing breaker. The other part is the Goulds pump I found from the quote it this: Goulds 7HS05422C 4" Submersible Water Well Pump, 7 GPM, 1/2 HP, 230 V, 2 Wire. I don't understand the 2 wire versus what seems to be 3/phase running underground and the difference, whether it'll work. I'm sure they're clue me in tomorrow but I'd like some info before then.
Thanks very much.

ThirdGenPump

In the Trades
Reaction score
To be clear you are looking at the control box not the pump. The pump is down in the well. There is a white and black wire coming from the pressure switch to the control box. Then a black, red and yellow going to the pump. The yellow may be white or appear white due to age.

There are two types of motors used in residential. 3-wire and 2-wire. Both are single phase. A 2-wire pump has the starting cap built into the motor so only needs 2 wires going to it. A 3 wire pump has the capacitor in the control box, so needs a third wire going to the pump.

Pumps now require grounding. So you'd probably need to run new wire to the well to meet the requirement for a 3 wire pump. With a two wire pump they'd re-purpose the white as a ground to avoid running new wire. I prefer 3 wire pumps but given the situation 2 wire is your best option.