Electrical chase code question

Users who are viewing this thread

Jeff2016

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I will start out and say I am not a pro by the trade, but electricity and I have mutual respect.

I live in California, where the load centers are on the outside of the house. When I redid the electrical in my garage a few years ago, I pulled out all the drywall and added OSB sheathing over the chase and then drywalled over that. Seemed like a good idea at the time. Fast forward a few years and I'd like to make the chase accessible. I was thinking about pulling the drywall off, and then painting the OSB (And securing it with screws). This way if I needed to get into the chase, I would be able to without a bunch of drywall work.

I suppose one would say there would be no need, so long as the house was wired properly. Unfortunately mine's not. I have about 40 devices on a single 15A circuit and about 30 on another. I'm sure that was not the case when new, but the house has had a few owners between that person and me. I have really good reason to believe they converted the garage into living space, and somehow cut a circuit of some sort. So ultimately, I want to at the minimum, take some of the load off the other 2 circuits by adding one or two more. I know where the chase leads to, and I know there is a straight shot from the garage ceiling into the attic (Covered by the chase...Basically it is roughly a 12x12 cavity that only has a 7" insulated HVAC duct going through it) so this rewiring task is easier than it sounds, with the added benefit that I won't have conduit fastened to the outside of my house.