Whole house ABS

Users who are viewing this thread

Reaction score
This is my first post, so thanks for reading. I have been lurking here for about 6 months trying to absorb so much of the information and great knowledge since we got into the serious renovating work on our house. I want to thank all of you in advance for taking the time to review my work and give me guidance and help. I will do my best to learn on my own and interpret the code to the best of my ability before posting, but I'm new to a lot of this work and I know when to ask for help; and that's why I'm finally going to post.

Background: I'm in north San Diego county. House was built in 1960, single level home on a slab, 3 br 2 bath.

We started with the idea when we bought this house that we'd open up the wall between the living room and kitchen to make the place feel bigger. That got done and I started removing the cabinets in the kitchen and when I went and placed my hand on the orignial kitchen sink trap arm that was sticking out of the wall, it literally fell off in my hand. That's when I knew I was about to learn plumbing.

Long story short, the kitchen and both bathrooms are now down to the studs including the ceiling. Now, I'm pretty good with reading and interpreting the code, but I need some advice on what you guys think will be the correct way to run my drain lines. The house (thankfully) has all the drain lines concentrated along about a 15 foot section of the southern wall of the house. The two full bathrooms are back to back, and the kitchen sink drains in from the east side of the master bathroom and that's it.

One of the previous owners ran all new ABS 4" pipe from the street around the house, into the backyard and turning and passing under the foundations footer directly under the master bathroom floor. This is where I will be starting from re-doing everything. My goals for the plumbing system are: big pipes for maximum capacity and least chance of clogs, and simple design.