Softener settings help

Users who are viewing this thread

Rick Sims

Reaction score
Hello,

newbie here, seems like a very informative forum, thanks for having me. been looking for info on here, but looks like everyone's situations are a bit different due to water quality.
I did a little research and purchased what I thought would suit my needs for this unit for my home. I basically went by ppm of our water and having city water to decided on my purchase. I hope I got the right one, It's the "Fleck Iron pro 2 5600sxt digital 64000 grain".

replacing old Culligan mark 100

My ppm is 700

2 people in household w/ grand kids visiting often

I have the ability of replacing this unit myself, just don't have the knowledge to set it to the right settings to run most efficient. Any feedback would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Rick

Rick Sims

Reaction score
Is that hardness in ppm?

What is the iron and manganese?
yes, I used tds&ec meter it reads ppm on it. the research I did you take my 700ppm divide by 17.1 and that gives the hardness "gpg" of 40.9 correct?

I don't know iron and manganese levels. how do I check? I presume with a kit?

Reach4

Reaction score
While TDS puts an upper bound on hardness, it does not measure hardness. After your water gets softened, the TDS will be about the same.

If well water, you should get a lab test. I like kit 90 from http://www.karlabs.com/watertestkit/

Is the inside of your toilet tank rust colored?

If city water, your iron would be zero.

Here is some preliminary/temporary settings pending the lab results. This presumes BLFC=0.5, which is common. Look for a label near the brine line.

System info (not programmed)
salt lb/cuft = 6 ; A choice ( efficiency vs capacity)
BLFC = 0.5 ; Brine Refill rate GPM
cubic ft resin = 2 ; ft3 resin = (nominal grains)/32,000
Raw hardness = 30 ; including any compensation
People = 3 ; gallons affects reserve calc
Estimated gal/day = 180 ; 60 gal per person typical calc