Setting up low-flow well --> cistern --> house

Users who are viewing this thread

Irish Mtn

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm new to the world of wells and could use some advice. The local well contractors are giving me conflicting opinions. I have literally sunk a lot of dollars into a 250' well that only produces less than 1/4 gpm. I then had a 1200gal concrete cistern set about halfway along a total run of about 200'. The cistern is slightly uphill of the house. All are connected underground with 4" Big-O, but no water pipe of wires yet have been pulled. I am thinking about breaking the project into 2 stages, the first being the installation of a sub pump in the cistern to feed a pressure tank in the house (4bdrm 3.5bath) and then having water delivered by truck. At some point in the future, Step 2 would be to put a pump in the well to feed the cistern, along with a float switch. Valveman has helpfully posted a diagram with just that type of set up. My question is whether it makes sense to install the well pump to a electronic timer so that it refills say a max number of gallons per night (let's say 150gal). Most of the time the house will only have 2 ppl and usually only on weekends, so I don't foresee water shortages. The reason for holding off on step 2 is because both contractors recommend abandoning the well--1 says flow OK, but quality bad and other says flow bad and quality OK. --I need more time to properly evaluate it.
Any thoughts on how to proceed with Step 1 without screwing up Step 2?

Attachments

• well layout.jpg
    well layout.jpg
    100 KB · Views: 1,413

Reach4

Reaction score
I don't see an advantage to a timer. You will want a device to shut down the pump, such as Cycle Sensor, when it runs dry, even if the float switch is asking for water.