Drilling a well. Going to need alot of advice.

Users who are viewing this thread

spiral_72

Reaction score
I used the usgs site to find the water table level in my area. I would think this gives you an indication of what to expect. You'll need to know the the height of your house above or below the sample data ground to get a real depth. My house is on a hill approximately 60ft above the sample location for example. For a guess I'd add 60ft to the value shown.

http://waterdata.usgs.gov

Random thoughts that may not help in the least. disregard any or all you see fit:

My first thought was to purchase a hand pump to clear the well, but at 120ft it's too deep for an inexpensive hand pump.

While I'm not an expert or even a plumber, I have just recently been faced with a similar situation except the water in the neighbor's well was clean. No one lives on the land so I borrowed the well 250ft away. I used a regular drop cord of suitable length and calculated wire size to (GASP!) run 220V to the alternate well. After it was all done I was out $100 but had water.

Buy a reputable 3/4hp pump and PE flex pipe to clear your neighbor's well and assess the quality of the well and water. If it doesn't pan out, at least you have the pump for your well you need to have bored. I would think it should be cleared of large debris so the pump doesn't ingest a bunch of crap. Maybe a 2ft length of PVC pipe big as fits inside the well casing with a flap valve (even a hand made one) on the bottom and a rope to hoist it in and out? Be assured someone will complain given enough time, so this might get you water until you have the resources to have your own bored. Once or if the well is producing clean water you might consider shocking the well for 48hrs then pumping the contents out on the ground several times.