What is this?????----Septic Tank Riser

Users who are viewing this thread

Giles

Retired tool & Die and Mechanic
Reaction score
My new home is about 20 years old and I have lived here about two years. The PO told me that this was a "septic tank cleanout cover".
I am not having a problem with the system, but out of curiousity, I removed the cap and I have no idea what this set up is.
It appears that this is a "jack-leg--setup" and might cause problems. Should I just leave it alone or make further inspection??
In the third and last photo, the tank cover can be seen, to the left. The entry sanitary "T" is open at the top as suds can be seen.
P5170103.jpg

P5170104.jpg

P5170105.jpg

P5170107.jpg

Rmelo99

Network Engineer
Reaction score
I'm no expert on septics, but for my sewer the cleanout that was brought up to the yard was PVC and had a traditional screw on cap to cover when not in use. It looks like someone used this corrugated pipe as a tunnel of sorts to get to a cleanout located a few feet underground.

I'll let the pros chime in but I have to imagine from what I can see having a tee of that sort open underground isn't a good thing. I would think if it is infact a cleanout that maybe it can have a 4" or whatever size pipe that is extended up to the ground level and then properly capped.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
That tee is a "baffle tee" and is installed EXACTLY the way it should be. The black pipe extending to the surface is to access the tank through that tee. It is NOT a cleanout per se except to pump the tank. You could with great difficulty, get a snake to enter the line at the side of the tee, but it would be a time consuming process.

Giles

Reaction score
I was wondering why I had no response and then discovered I do not always receive an eMail notification. I have the option activated and I review and post in the proper spot.