Rubber plumbing?

Users who are viewing this thread

sanrico

Reaction score
Hi all,

We recently had our second bathroom redone and this time, we went with a contractor.

When he was done and we were going over his (sometimes sloppy) work, I noticed the drain for the vanity sink and the tub were both leaking. I noticed he used rubber "pipes" with hose clamps and I found that strange.

I'm no pro, so for all I know, this is industry standard. I thought I would take a couple of pics and let the experts decide. What do you think?

Vanity sink drain:

Tub drain. The rubber part is the black thing at the bottom:

Thank you very much!

Last edited by a moderator:

Redwood

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Definitely not plumbing industry standard...

What you have there is some fine Hackmanship....

Shacko

Master Plumber-Gas Fitter
Reaction score
Does the term GARBAGE mean anything to you?, most areas don't allow that type of connection! :eek:

Rmelo99

Network Engineer
Reaction score
The fact that the existing drain he had to tie into was ABS makes his life and job a whole lot easier. Any 1/2 decent Contractor(non-plumber) could do a better job piping that drain/trap. I could see if he was tying into old metal piping.

Those stupid Fernco type of rubber couplings which he improperly used, cost more in materials than regular ABS fittings and glue, the correct way it should have been done. Last I checked those are like $3-4 piece.

It would look 1000% better and be 1000% leak proof.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score